Flicorno d'Oro -  International Band Competition ASSOCIAZIONE FLICORNO D’ORO | Jury Flicorno d'Oro -  International Band Competition ASSOCIAZIONE FLICORNO D’ORO | Jury
Associazione Flicorno D'Oro

The members of the international jury 2024

Every year the musical performances will be evaluated by a jury made up of personalities from the world of music. Great composers, musicians and conductors accept the invitation to be part of the Jury sharing the passion for wind music.

Due to the high number of bands participating in the 2024 edition, this year there will be two Jury Presidents.
Jan Van der Roost will be joined by Thomas Doss in judging the 60 registered bands.

Jan Van der Roost was born in Duffel, Belgium in 1956.
He studied at the Lemmensinstituut and at the Royal Conservatories of Ghent and Antwerp, where he qualified as a conductor and a composer.
Besides being a prolific composer, he also is very much in demand as an adjudicator, lecturer, clinician, and guest conductor: his musical activities took him to over 50 countries while his compositions have been performed/recorded around the world.



Thomas Doss (Linz, 6th June 1966) studied trombone, composition and conducting at the Bruckner Conservatory in Linz and later continued his studies at the University of Vienna, the Mozarteum in Salzburg, the Maastricht Conservatory and Los Angeles.
Doss debuted with the Wiener Kammerorchester in 1988. He held residencies with various opera houses and festivals, working as both conductor and composer.
In 1991 he became principal conductor of the Quedlinburg State Orchestra.
He currently teaches conducting at the Vienna Conservatory and band conducting and arranging at the OÖ Landesmusikschulwerk and the Linz School of Music.
Since 2001 he has been a composer for the Mitropa publishing house (De Haske group) and is active as a seminarian, juror and director throughout the world.
He has numerous international recordings and awards to his credit.



Flicorno d'Oro -  International Band Competition - Jan Van Der Roost

Jan Van Der Roost

Jury President

Flicorno d'Oro -  International Band Competition - Thomas Doss

Thomas Doss

Jury President

Social Wall